Four C’s

Each diamond is unique and requires an individual quality assessment which needs to be  based on criteria that are internationally recognised. Four C’s are scales that determine the value of a diamond. AUI Jewellers give you the best value for choosing a diamond.




Size, colour and clarity are all dependent on nature. The cut emphasises the brilliance, the fire, the definitive radiance, is created by Man.

Cut refer to the angles and proportions a skilled craftsperson creates in transforming a rough diamond into a polished diamond and is not a reference to the shape of the diamond. Even if a diamond has the highest colour and clarity, a poor cut will result in the diamond having a dulled brilliance.

EX – Excellent, VG – Very Good, G – Good, F – Fair, P – Poor



The clarity of a diamond refers to the degree of absence of natural inclusions. Each diamond will have its own unique inclusions in various positions within the diamond. Clarity is the term to describe the size and number of inclusions in a diamond.

The diamond clarity grading scales consists of the following abbreviations:
IF – Internally Flawless
VVS – Very very small inclusion
VS – Very small inclusion
SI– Small inclusion
P/I – Pique




A diamond, degree of colourlessness is described by a colour grading system start at D to Z. D for truly colourless stone, are extremely rare and very valuable. The first three colours D, E, F are often called collection colour.



The standard metric carat is the universal method of measuring the weight of a diamond. The carat is divided into 100 subdivisions called “points” therefore 100 points equals 1 carat. ALL weights that are not whole units are expressed as decimals. For example, 50 points is 0.50 carats,125 points is 1.25 carats.